Apollo Bay Fishing Company

Lovely blog article about the Apollo Bay Shipping Company by Barbara Turner 🙂

Bound for Australia

When I saw the theme photo for this week’s Sepia Saturday, the first thing I noticed were the converging lines .  So though the theme photo is one of linesmen working on a power supply I want to show you a boat by the pier at Apollo Bay on the south west coast of Victoria in 1908 with similar converging  lines.

2015.03W.47

Centurion boat 1908 The Centurion at the Apollo Bay Jetty, 1908

The Centurion was owned by the Apollo Bay Fishing Company and my grandmother’s uncle, Peter Telford Jr (1867-1953), was one of the Directors.  I can’t tell you which of my relations let me scan this photo but the details on my computer show that I added the image in 1998 but it’s only now that I realize its significance to the family story.

Apart from a road/track  which connected Apollo Bay to the railway line at Forrest, the sea was…

View original post 579 more words

Leave a Reply

