Otway Artist Profile: Nathan Patterson – Iluka Design

 

IMG_20160130_103356

Nathan Patterson is a proud Wagiman man who is now residing in Torquay on the south coast of Victoria. His people are from Pine Creek, near the Daly River Region in the Northern Territory, where the Wagiman clan are the traditional landowners. Nathan was born 1981, in Preston Victoria and adopted to white parents. He met his biological mother for the first time when he was 15 years of age. His passion for painting first emerged during his teenage years which led to engaging in the study of Fine Arts in 2002 at RMIT, Melbourne. Nathan art career is flourishing and this year he designed the Collingwood AFL dreamtime Guernsey He previously had designed the ones for Essendon and Tigers – no other indigenous artist has done this..

received_491509847640224

 

Otway Life Magazine spoke to Nathan about his current life and passions

What brought you here to this part of the world?

I moved to the Surf Coast from Melbourne to be with my current partner Kit-e.  I used to holiday here with my family at Torquay Holiday Park when I was young and always had a soft spot for the area.

 

20160425_141320-1

What inspires you as an artist?

I am inspired by nature.  I am inspired through my environment; the birds, animals, creatures, landscapes and the coast.  I am also inspired by my culture, my family and pushing the boundaries of what Aboriginal art is.  I am inspired by sharing my culture through my art.

Which artists have influenced your work?

The late Lin Onus, Ray Thomas and Jandamarra Cadd.

What are your hopes for the future?

My hopes for the future is to build a self-sustaining business with my own studio and gallery located in the Otways.  A place where people can drop in and see me at work as well as relax and view my artwork.   A touring national exhibition would be fantastic and maybe an international one to take my art international!

I would love to be able to employ young emerging Indigenous artists to support them in their personal life and career and at the same time to give back to the community.

 

20160421_082228_001-1

Where can people view and buy your art?

People can view and purchase my art via my Facebook page and website.

Keep a look out for exhibitions which will be happening regionally over the next 2 years.

and anything else he may like to say?

I am very passionate about my art and my culture and am very blessed to be able to share it with people.

 

 

http://www.ilukadesigns.com.au

 

 

Leave a Reply

